HAMILTON’s Leslie Odom Jr. to release debut album

Leslie Odom Jr.

On the heels of receiving a Tony nomination for best lead actor in a musical for his outstanding role as Aaron Burr in the Broadway phenomenon HamiltonLeslie Odom Jr. will soon show fans his vocal prowess in another musical setting, the recording studio, when his superb self-titled debut album of jazz classics, LESLIE ODOM JR., is released June 10 on S-Curve Records. The 10-track collection features Odom’s soulful new interpretations of beloved songs that have been longtime favourites of his. Standout tracks on the album, which will be available for pre-order on iTunes and Amazon, include Odom’s ethereal rendition of the Jerome Kern gem “Look for the Silver Lining,” a new arrangement of “The Guilty Ones” from Spring Awakening, a stunning percussion and piano-driven version of “Love Look Away” and his inspired take on the timeless classic “Autumn Leaves.”

“I’m so excited about my new partnership with the talented and motivated team at S-Curve Records!” said Leslie Odom Jr.  “We want to make music that you can feel. We so appreciate the early support for the record from friends and fans around the world. We endeavor to make you proud. Follow along and please enjoy!”

“Leslie has approached the songs on his debut album in a thoughtful and truly inspired fashion, creating something quite beautiful,” said Steve Greenberg, Founder and President of S-Curve Records. “We all know what a charismatic performer he is; the world is about to find out what a uniquely gifted vocalist he is. He’s made a great album and this is really just the beginning.”

Odom won a 2015 Grammy award for Best Musical Theater Album as a principal soloist in the Hamilton original cast recording.  The accomplished singer/actor has already carved an impressive career path since graduating from Carnegie Mellon University’s prestigious School of Drama, making his Broadway debut at age 17 in Rent.  Before Hamilton, Odom was best known for his role in the NBC TV series “Smash” and as Reverend Curtis Scott on “Law & Order: SVU”.

LESLIE ODOM JR. Track Listing:

  1. Look for the Silver Lining
  2. Joey, Joey, Joey
  3. Autumn Leaves
  4. Brazil (Aquarela do Brasil)
  5. Love Look Away
  6. Nobody Knows You (When You’re Down and Out)
  7. The Guilty Ones
  8. I Know That You Know
  9. Cheer Up Charlie
  10. The Party’s Over
Your Two Pence

About Your Two Pence

Your Two Pence is Theatre For You!